top of page
  • Writer's picture3S Yoga

Root Chakra? Why Does it Matter - Alexandra Cook

The Root Chakra, or Muladhara in Sanskrit, is located at the base of the spine at the first three vertebrae. It is the foundation of one’s physical well-being, grounding, and fundamental needs - hunger, sex, sleep, security, and survival. This chakra is associated with the color red, as it is the energetic color of grounding and protection. Like the name “root” suggests, the Muladhara is connected with the element of Earth. The energies of the Root Chakra help us feel grounded and secure. When our sense of internal grounding is off, these energies become stuck or blocked and can have negative effects on the mind and body. Imbalance in the Root Chakra can leave us feeling restless or experiencing a lack of energy, which may be expressed as anxiety, depression, frustration, resentment, or anger. Excessive feelings of insecurity push us into a state of constant survival mode and panic. Physical manifestations of a blocked root chakra include back pain, lethargy, digestive discomfort, or pain in the legs.

It is important to focus on the Root Chakra because when we allow its energy to flow freely, it can help us increase our sense of belonging, feeling secure in our actions and choices, and have the ability to hold an increased sense of self-worth. The energy of the Root chakra allows us to harness courage, resourcefulness and the will to live during challenging times. Incorporation of yoga asanas and breathing exercises can help open the physical aspect of the root chakra.

Mantras for Root Chakra:

  • “I am anchored to the earth and supported by the universe.”

  • “The universe will always support me and show me where to go next.”

  • “I deserve and receive support whenever I need it.”

Best Yoga Studio in Richmond, Midlothian, Church Hill

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Solar Plexus, or Manipura, is the third chakra located behind the navel in the upper abdomen. In the physical body, it is the regulator of the lumbar spine, digestive organs, eyesight and movement

The Sacral Chakra, or Svadhisthana is the second chakra. It is located 2 finger-widths above the Root chakra at the pelvis extending just below the navel. This chakra is the energy source of creativit

bottom of page